Playing with fractals

fractal 2D (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

fractal 2D (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

During the Elements workshop this weekend the particpants were also interested in how fractal art was created.  If you aren’t familiar with fractals they are a form of digital/computer art that is created using a program that generates images using coded algorithms.  Thank goodness the coding is already pre-programmed or there would be very few people that would be able to create these beautiful images! 🙂 The computer processes these images (which are considered it’s native art form since they can’t be produced without a computer) while the parameters and information that they are based on can be changed by the person using the program.   Once created they can also be processed or manipulated further in other graphics programs.  It had been quite a while since I had played with fractal so it was fun to open up the program and poke around a bit.  I was able to show them some basics on how it worked but, honestly, there was quite a bit I couldn’t remember.  After class was over I still had the program open & running so I sat down for a bit and explored some more.  Here are some of the images I came up with:

fractal #1 (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

fractal #1 (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

fractal 3B (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

fractal 3B (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

fractal 4B (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

fractal 4B (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

I had fun just sitting and playing with the images for a while, I hope I will soon get a chance to better re-acquaint myself with the process and program used to created these colorful works of art!

Lynne

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I like what you did don’t ask me how you did it but I like looking at your artwork..

    Reply
  1. You just never know… « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

