Finished studio space!

It’s been well over a month since I mentioned that I would be turning part of my home into my studio space.  Although the plans have changed many times over since then it is finally complete (or at least close enough to declare it done!).  I am still waiting on a couple of display grids to arrive & I’d like to make a new cushion for the storage bench, but otherwise it is finished.  The space had been my photo studio for the past nine years and had collected an enormous, messy amount of backdrops, props, supplies and (I’ll admit it) junk!  

before

"before"

before

"before"

before

"before"

It felt dark, crowded and most decidedly not user-friendly but I made it work as best I could.  Obviously by the end of it I wasn’t too excited about keeping it clean.  (Blush!) It hadn’t been designed for photography and really didn’t have proper space for that but you make do with what you have, don’t you?   (On a side note –  I am not giving up portrait photography I havejust  redefined the way I will do it from here on out, focusing on outdoor & location shoots instead of studio shots.  I am excited by that change and look forward to being out and enjoy some different scenery!)  

Amazingly I was able to clear almost everything out of the room in a single day!  I didn’t think that was possible!  After most of the stuff was cleared out we began the painting process.  Although technically the room was white before it was amazing what a couple fresh coats of paint did for it!  

cleaning out

"cleaning out"

"painting"

fresh paint

"fresh paint"

 Next the old carpet went out…and (after a week or so) the new went in:

old carpet out

"old carpet out"

new carpet in!

"new carpet in!"

new carpet

"new carpet"

By that time we had decided, re-decided, changed our mind, made up or mind, changed it again and finally had a loose kind of idea of how to proceed.  Looking forward to the future we have plans for retirement and selling the house so decided against any kind of permanent, built in storage, as the next owner many prefer just to use the space as a porch.  A few other options were vetoed along the way and I was actually slow to decide exactly what I wanted.  Normally I am one to jump right into to something and later wish I had thought it through a bit more first so I actually did that this time.  It felt strange! 🙂  In the meantime it was a big, nicely carpeted room for our grandson to play in and we spent many evenings running back & forth from one end to the other playing “Get me!”.  I was glad to get some furniture in there after that, he was wearing me out!  Although he still enjoys having a new place to play I think our days of running are over (at least indoors!).  Anyhow, here are images of the finished space…although almost all the art shown hanging here has left to go to galleries & shows!  But I have plenty of backup pieces that are filling in the gaps quite nicely. 🙂

south east corner of room

south east corner of room

south west corner of room

south west corner of room

south end of room

south end of room

west wall

west wall

more west wall

more west wall

north west corner

north west corner

north end of room

north end of room

As you can tell by the photos I’ve already been working at my new work space (that is the collaborative artwork I mentioned in a previous post).  My only fear is that I made the space too “nice” and will be overly concerned with making a mess with paints, etc. but I’ve got several sheets of plastic I can throw on the floor if need be and, honestly, when I am really feeling messy I usually go play outside in the yard where paint splatter doesn’t matter! 🙂  

Sorry for the overly-long post but now you’ve had the online tour of my studio!  I plan to be hosting many workshops, classes and events now that I have my own space so perhaps before too long you can get the “in person” tour instead of just viewing images online!

Until then!

Lynne

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. severnyproductions

     /  June 9, 2009

    I like what you’ve done with the space. You’ve made a practical looking studio. but i know what you mean about the carpet.

    Reply
    • Thanks! It’s been fun getting settled into the space and getting a feel for making art in there. So far I’ve not been using any messy materials so I’ve not had carpet issues. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Susan

     /  June 9, 2009

    What a great space you have, Lynne! I love it all – and the rug on top of the carpet is SO pretty! Where did you find it?

    Oh! I have 4 ICONs for you – you can get them next week when you’re here, perhaps?

    Reply
    • Thanks Susan! The rug was actually from Lowe’s! Please save the ICON for Tuesday, that would be perfect. See you then!

      Reply
  3. szreader

     /  June 14, 2009

    OMG! Lowe’s? No kidding! What an eye you have, Lynne! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Clutter! « Lynne’s Blog

Leave a Reply

