Some new photo/digital work…

I realized a day or two ago that I needed to get my images to the printers for an upcoming competition so they would be ready before the drop-off date.  Things like that just continue to sneak up on me (and, on more than one occasion, past me by).  I have dozens and dozens of photos, digital art and other images but when it comes to a competition I look through them all and feel less than excited, even by pieces that just a week ago I thought were great.  It seems I am only pleased with new work!  So, after sorting through my images and selecting some from the current stock I decided to create a couple new pieces to add to the mix.  Now I’m happy! 🙂

This piece will compete in a creative photography category.

The Human Body (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

"the human body" (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

I know the images is smallish so I’ll reprint the quote: “The human body is not a thing or substance, given, but a continuous creation. The human body is an energy system which is never a complete structure; never static; is in perpetual inner self-construction and self-destruction; we destroy in order to make it new.” (Brown)  On a side note: If you are in the Indianapolis area and are looking for a personal trainer I would certain recommend my “model” for this piece.  (This is an image from some promo shots we took last year for his business.)  Click here to check out his website “Designer Fitness by Flavius“. Not only can you learn all about his training services it shows off some of the other promotional photos that were taken.  I also designed the website and his logo!

The second piece I created is something I’ve had in mind/on my mind for well over a year now.  I made it specifically as a gift for my massage therapist, once it’s done at the competition I will give it to her. I am a firm believer in getting regular massages as part of staying healthy. It is such a wonderful escape from the busy-ness and worries of daily life.  Like a short, sweet trip to a warm, pleasant island.  Ahhhh!  If she reads my blog then I guess this won’t be a surprise gift but I think she’ll be pleased, none-the-less.

massage (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

"massage" (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

I enjoy making art with a specific topic or theme from time-to-time.  I can still use my imagination but it gives me some “walls” to work within so I don’t get to scattered with my ideas. Let me know if you have any project that need an artistic touch!

Creatively,

Lynne

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Andy Calnan

     /  July 17, 2009

    I like “massage” very much. It reminds me a little of Alex Grey. If you’ve never seen his artwork before, I highly suggest you google him 🙂

    Good luck on the competition!

    http://clamroll.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. Glad you liked it Andy! I hadn’t heard of Alex Grey so I looked him up, cool stuff! I can see where some of it does have a similar feel to the “massage” piece. Thanks for stopping by!

    Lynne

    Reply
  3. I was so very pleased to look at your work. Professional, imaginative and beautiful. I know how hard it is to fish through work. When we went to Europe I came home with close to 5,000 images. Some so so, some worth working with. I shall return to look at your work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

