Nature

Nature will bear the closest inspection. She invites us to lay our eye level with her smallest leaf, and take an insect view of its plain.  ~Henry David Thoreau

I had the chance to go out into a lovely garden last month and shoot photos of some beautiful flowers that I will be using to create some new digital art for an upcoming show. As I traveled there the only idea I had was capturing images of the flowers.  Once I arrived I discovered there was much more to catch my interest!  The bees were out in full force, doing what bees do and doing it busily.

busy bee #1 (c) Lynne Medsker

busy bee #1 (c) Lynne Medsker

I am so captivated by their sounds and movements as they skip from flower to flower, yet slightly intimidated by them at the same time.  Childhood memories of stings stick tightly through the years and I am cautious in their presence.

busy bee #2 (c) Lynne Medsker

busy bee #2 (c) Lynne Medsker

busy bee #3 (c) Lynne Medsker

busy bee #3 (c) Lynne Medsker

I will be honest and tell you that catching a well focused image of a bee in action is tough, but it is a fun challenge if you have the time! As I happily clicked away with my camera I discovered a few other insects lurking about.  What an enjoyable, relaxing treat to be able to take a break and enjoy the sights & sounds of nature!

moth? butterfly? (c) Lynne Medsker

moth (c) Lynne Medsker

As I approached the last of the garden areas I found this awesome fellow. I was happily surprised that he allowed me to get so close, and I really appreciate him posing so nicely. 🙂 Don’t you just love those wings?

dragonfly (c) Lynne Medsker

dragonfly (c) Lynne Medsker

Posting these images makes me want to get out and enjoy the outdoors again very soon, I know in a blink of an eye it will be barren and cold. What do you want to do before winter arrives?

Seize the day!

Lynne

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Cat

     /  September 14, 2009

    Those are great pictures!! Don’t know about Indy, but Michigan is having a wonderful stretch of weather. (And, after a IMO lousy summer, we deserve it.) It should get into the 80s today which makes me happy! 🙂

    The work situation is such that come winter, I’m going to be very, very … did I say very … busy. So, what I need to do before this hits is to establish some organized, stress controlled, and otherwise healthy habits to keep myself from going insane. LOL

    Meanwhile, it’s the calm before the storm.

    Reply
    • It has been unusually nice weather the last week or two…and I agree that summer wasn’t the best. Too much rain! Well, having work to do is a good thing, having an overwhelming amount – not so much! At least you know in advance what’s coming. Good idea to prepare yourself for it! Enjoy these beautiful days while you can.

      Reply
  2. Rose Richard

     /  September 14, 2009

    Catching those bees in flight is VERY difficult. I have yet to get it this good. My kudos to you. You did this very well and these photos are beautiful as usual!
    I want to get a couple of my bigger flower beds rearranged and cleaned up. I also still have 100 trees to plant to add to the wildlife habitat. I love nature and what it brings to me!

    Reply
    • Wow, Rose, that is a lot of work to get done! You really must enjoy it. I am a “once & I’m done” type gardener. Clear out the flower beds in the spring, plant a few things and then it’s on it’s own. This year I’ve had some nice, lush, gardens with all the rain! When they have to depend on me for water they don’t usually look so good. Your wildlife habitat sounds awesome!

      Reply
  3. April

     /  September 14, 2009

    Nice photos of the bees! I love busy bees. I’m still in search of that dragonfly that will hold still long enough for me to capture her. Great job on that one!

    Reply
  1. Detours « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

