Detours

detour #4 (c) Lynne Medsker

detour #4 (c) Lynne Medsker

I mentioned in my last blog post that I wanted to get out and spend some more time enjoying nature before this nice weather comes to a too-soon end.  I was actually able to do that yesterday! Part of the reason I ventured out was that I needed to gather some photos for an upcoming nature-inspired art show that I will be part of.  Past that it was a reward for getting several items crossed off my to-do list early in the day.  This particular location was a nature preserve tucked away in the nearby town of Avon, Indiana.  Had I not been directed to it I wouldn’t have known it existed.  It’s always a treat to find little treasures like this when you aren’t aware of them!  I slowly wandered the path into the forest, camera in hand, taking some random shots of items and just getting myself into an awareness of my surroundings and the simple beauty of the woods.  My mind always seems to need some time to shift gears before I start to “see” interesting photos unfolding before me.  Soon I was spying large & small details that pleased me, happily clicking away every few feet!  Although I wouldn’t really qualify this as autumn/fall just yet (or perhaps I just don’t want to!) there are some early leaves making their way out of the trees to the ground.  I became aware of the ones that, on their way down, had not made it to the ground as expected.  They were wedged in, lying on, or suspended by the tree branches, leaves and undergrowth in between their tree branches and the ground.  How many times in my life have I had detours like that when I thought I knew exactly where I would end up?  Not always better and not always worse, life has a way of landing us in some unexpected places.  Does anyone else feel that way?  I wondered to myself how long these wayward leaves would stay where they were or how many other detours they would have along the way as they drifted down toward the earth. I couldn’t help but capture some images of these migrant leaves as they sat, waiting to continue their journey.

detour #6 (c) Lynne Medsker

detour #6 (c) Lynne Medsker

detour #7 (c) Lynne Medsker

detour #7 (c) Lynne Medsker

detour #3 (c) Lynne Medsker

detour #3 (c) Lynne Medsker

I must have been feeling philosophical during my wanderings that day. As I meandered through the wooded path I found another leaf in an interesting situation that made me continued my musings on the paths that we take during life.  But, THAT, is for the next blog post!  Until then, enjoy your days – detours and all!

Drifting along,

Lynne

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Cat

     /  September 15, 2009

    There’s a quote from author Douglas Adams (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy) that says:

    “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”

    You & he were on the same wavelength here, accounting for Life’s Little Detours.

    Reply
  1. Suspended (again!) « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

