Acrylic Work

I enjoy playing with acrylics from time to time and must say I am really excited about my most recent experiments using a palette knife.  I am enjoying moving the fluid, butter-like paint around and creating colorful textures and designs.  I’ve had in the back of my mind (and also in my sketch book) some designs I’ve wanted to paint in acrylics but hadn’t explored just yet.  This week I was able to play with the palette knife again and, although this isn’t exactly what I had sketched, this is getting closer & closer to what I envisioned in my mind.

(untitled) acrylic on canvas (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

(untitled) acrylic on canvas (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

I plan to explore this theme a bit more, using the black/white/red color scheme.  I feel a deep connection with the symbolism and story in this piece but would love to hear what others see/feel when they view it.  Please share your comments! My only frustration with this piece is that, as I drifted off to sleep last night, I thought of the perfect title.  This morning?  It’s gone. 😦  It’s still at the edge of my thoughts, just out of grasp, teasing me.  I’m sure it will drift back to me in time but until I have that “Ah ha!” moment it will just have to remain untitled.

Patiently waiting,

Lynne

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. April

     /  October 1, 2009

    This is very cool!

    Reply
  2. Cat

     /  October 3, 2009

    I’ve always loved the black/red/white combo. 🙂

    In the “what do you see” question the first thing that popped in my mind is a very zoomed in topographical map. (Color-coded, obviously.) The edges where land meets ocean, with rivers running through, and penninsulas sticking out. Red being the land and the white being the water (maybe ice?) I guess the black is the created border.

    I’ll bet that’s not what you were shooting for. LOL

    Reply
  1. Acrylic Work, 2 « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

