Modifications

Sometimes after I’ve created a digital and/or photo art piece I revisit it to see if there are some modifications I could make to improve it.  It works in some cases, in others – not so much.  I recently did a set of images created from photos I took in someone’s flower gardens.  I really liked the original images but wanted to submit them somewhere else where the stipulations were “no extensive use of the color red”.  And of course how had I decided to color these images?  Yup, mostly red hues!  So back to the drawing board (or more specifically Photoshop screen) I went.  Here are the original images, followed by the modified ones.

Dream Garden #1 photo/digital art (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

"Dream Garden #1" photo/digital art (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

modified Dream Garden #1 (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

modified "Dream Garden #1" (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

Dream Garden #3 photo/digital art (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

"Dream Garden #3" photo/digital art (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

modified Dream Garden #3 (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

modified "Dream Garden #3" (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

Dream Garden #2 photo/digital art (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

"Dream Garden #2" photo/digital art (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

modified Dream Garden #2 (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

modified "Dream Garden #2" (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

I have mixed emotions about the outcomes.  The top image I pretty much like the before & after version about the same, the middle image I think I prefer it with the changes and the last image I like the “before” version best.  What’s your opinion? I really love the flexibility of working within the digital realm.  The ability to change color schemes, sizes, orientation and content are all just a button-click away.  The downside, of course, is the uncertainty of knowing which colors to choose, how to best present the image and just trying to make up my mind which version I want to display.  Pros, cons and personal preference abound – as with most things in life!

Staying flexible,

Lynne

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

