Acrylic Work, 2

In my last acrylic art post I showed a new piece of artwork I created using the black/white/red color combination.  I was able to spend an afternoon in the studio during the weekend and was excited to continue with this new body of work!  I have several other pieces in mind for this series that will unfold eventually.  It’s a little different for me to work with a semi-solid concept of what it is I’m going to create before I start putting paint to canvas.  I am enjoying the freedom that comes within the boundaries I’ve set.  Sometimes have ALL the options open makes it difficult to start or continue, so at least with these pieces I have a basic theme & direction in mind before I begin.

(untitled) acrylic on canvas (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

(untitled) acrylic on canvas (c) 2009, Lynne Medsker

I am working with thick layers of wet acrylic and swirling and blending them I need to have a fair block of time to work within so I can complete them before the paint is dry.  That’s a different approach for me as well, most of my art has many layers and builds over a period of time as I apply a layer, leave it to dry, come back to it later, add another layer, etc., etc.  I started several of these over the weekend too.  They are all smaller pieces, which I haven’t done for a while either.  Here’s the initial work I’ve done:

blank canvases

blank 6x6" canvases

canvases with first layer of acrylic gel medium (dries clear)

canvases with first layer of acrylic gel medium (for texture, dries clear)

blank 4x4 cradled panels

blank 4x4" cradled panels

panels with layers of acrylic gel medium (for texture, dries clear)

panels with layers of acrylic gel medium (for texture, dries clear)

In addition to all the acrylic play I also started on a new mixed media/embossed metal piece, which I haven’t done for several months.  Things are hopping in the studio right now!  I think it’s important to continue to stretch and do things differently instead of doing the same thing each time.  It keeps it interesting, fresh & exciting to work that way!  I know everyone is different, does changing up your routine charge you up or stress you out?

Batteries full,

Lynne

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. April

     /  October 21, 2009

    It stresses me out at first, but it’s usually so rewarding afterwards. And I’m glad I changed it up a bit. As of late though, it really hasn’t been the least bit rewarding. So, I guess, if it’s a good change in the routine I don’t mind it. 🙂

    Reply
    • The changes that are initiated by ME don’t stress me, the ones that are thrust upon me by others or by circumstance tend to throw me over the edge! 🙂

      Reply
  1. 10 months… « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

