Pogonip?

"frozen fog" 1-18-10 (c) Lynne Medsker

Yesterday’s weather forecast included “freezing fog” which I can’t really recall hearing about before.  I woke up to a white wintery scene that looked much like a light snow but was stuck to every blade, twig, branch and leaf.  It was quite beautiful!  After posting a few of the images online to share with my friends one of them commented that it looked like “pogonip,” which sent me off on a web search because I’d never heard the term before.  This type of weather event is more common in the western part of the US (which is where she lives) explaining why I’d never heard of it before!

"frozen fog" 1-18-10 (c) Lynne Medsker

"frozen fog" 1-18-10 (c) Lynne Medsker

There were some local areas that didn’t get nearly this much, if any, but I guess we are in an open enough spot to get a nice heavy coat.  Some of it stayed throughout the entire day but this morning it is dropping to the ground at a steady rate and disappearing.

"frozen fog" 1-18-10 (c) Lynne Medsker

"frozen fog" 1-18-10 (c) Lynne Medsker

I found lots of awesome shots of texture and patterns that I’ll be able to use as resources for future digital collages while I was photographing! It felt good to be outside, camera in hand, despite the chilly weather.  It won’t be long until I’ll be outside taking shots of the tiny spring wildflowers popping up again!  Until then stay safe, warm and happy.

Lynne

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Cat

     /  January 22, 2010

    About the ONLY good thing about winter is that it can be very pretty. Nice pics. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

