New Collage works on paper!

"renew your dedication" collage on paper, 5x5" (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

A few months ago I was reading Martha Marshall’s blog, An Artist’s Journal, and she was explaining her “intuitive” collage process (read the posts here).  Ever since I read about it I’ve been wanting to try it!  Well, guess what? Yesterday was my lucky day, I had a full day in the studio and no pressing projects to work on.  Alright! 🙂 It was SO much fun! From selecting the paper and clippings I’d use to laying it out and adhering all the pieces and then deciding which parts would become little works of art, I had a blast.

magazine clippings for possible use in collage

I was going by memory of how she did her work so as I re-read her process last night I realized I’d done mine a little differently but that’s okay – I wasn’t trying to copy her work I was just using it for inspiration. I had a stockpile of 8×10″ mats with 5×5″ openings so that’s what determined the size of the compositions. I may experiment with different sizes and shapes next time. I will be featuring the finished pieces of art (11 total) over the next few blog posts, as well as some ATC’s and a mixed media piece I made with some of the “leftovers” from this project.

"this is the day" collage on paper, 5x5" (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

I took lots of photos of the materials and the process, I’m thinking they will make interesting photos to play with and create some digital art.

"baby song" collage on paper, 5x5" (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Next week I will be announcing upcoming art classes for the next few months.  Coincidently, the first one happens to be a one-day collage workshop! (Mark your calendar for Saturday, March 20th – more details will follow soon!) Other class topics include photography and mixed media wall sculptures.  I am always excited when I get my class schedule set!

Happy, happy, joy, joy!

Lynne

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Happy happy joy joy is right, Lynne! These are fabulous! And ATC’s from the leftovers. I love it. I also love your idea of using photographs of a spread or two in some digital compositions. Excellent!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Martha! That means a lot coming from you. 🙂 I had an absolutely fabulous time and can’t wait to do it again. And working with the photos is going to be a lot of fun as well! 🙂 I appreciate you sharing your ideas and techniques on your blog – and for the inspiration you share too!

    Reply
  1. Collage for a Monday morning… « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

