This Week’s Project

first layer of a "junk mail" collage, 12x36" (c) Lynne Medsker

So what are you up to this week? Do you have exciting plans or are you just “getting through it” until the weekend?  I’ve been known to do either of those things (especially just “getting through it” to the weekend!), but this week I’ve got a project planned to work on.  Mark & I were invited to display our artwork in a show that will be celebrating the 40th anniversary of “Earth Day”.  Cool! Of course the requirement for the art we submit is that it needs to be created with scraps or recycled or repurposed items. That won’t be a problem for Mark’s art, he has a shop full of used parts with which to create.  I decided I would raid my recycling box and make a collage piece from junk mail & catalogs. The first layer (pictured above) is mostly text, charts and other black & white type imagery, with the exception of a few splashes of color.  I’ve had fun cutting out different words, phrases and objects to be included in future layers. I’ve got today on the schedule as an “unplugged day” so I will probably start by adding some paint and more items from the catalogs and advertising. Then we’ll just see where creativity leads me!

Stay tuned for more progress reports…

Lynne

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Finished project for Earth Day show… « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

