Fuji FinePix JZ500 Camera – Review, Part 1

I’ve never done a camera review before but thought it would be fun to do one for my newly acquired point & shoot camera from Fuji.  Right off the bat I need to say that I’ve owned several Fuji cameras and never been disappointed in them so I expect good things from this camera too. For you data buffs out there this camera is 14 megapixels with a 10x zoom. That’s a lot in a tiny package! As I unpacked it I had a “doh!” moment realizing that it had a camera specific battery and that I should have ordered a second battery so I’d always have one charged & ready.  That was my fault for not reading the data clearly online when I ordered it! I put the battery on the charger and then shortly I needed to leave. When I returned a few hours later it was completely charged so I’d estimate the charging time at 1.5 to 2.5 hours.  I’ll check that time again after the battery is totally drained. 🙂 I slid the battery & memory card in place and started to play. The start up time was very quick! It has several settings that I’m itching to play with but for this first, quick review I used the SR Auto setting, which seemed to work very well.  It selects for you the settings, automatically went into macro mode when needed, flashed at the appropriate time and behaved as it was supposed to.  For someone wanting an easy point & shoot with a high pixel count this setting would be all they need.  Of course for those of us that like to play there are lots of other settings too!  Here are the first several photos that I took, they are all take indoors, at first using flash then going in a sunny room to use natural lighting. Other than resizing them to fit on the web I did no editing, color correcting or adjustments to any of the photos shown.

First image, indoors, using flash 1/60 @ F 5:2, ISO 800 Fuji FinePix JZ500

3rd image, indoors, using flash 1/60 @ F 5:3, ISO 800 Fuji FinePix JZ500

4th image, indoors, using flash 1/60 @ F 5:3, ISO 800 Fuji FinePix JZ500

5th image, indoors, using flash 1/60 @ F 5:3, ISO 800 Fuji FinePix JZ500

6th image, indoors, natural light 1/90 @ F 5:3, ISO 800 Fuji FinePix JZ500

6th image, indoors, natural light 1/120 @ F 3:3, ISO 400 Fuji FinePix JZ500

I like the fact that the indoor flash photos aren’t overly flashy! I am anxious to take some people pictures to see how the flash reacts. I just don’t happen to have any people here right now to do that with! After playing a bit indoors I decided it was time to take it outside. The view screen on the back of the camera is fairly large – about 2 x 2.5 inches. There is no eye piece for viewing, which often can be troublesome outdoors on a sunny day but I could see the screen, even in full sun, just by shading it with my hand. I decided to play with the zoom first to check out the range.  Here are those images:

Outdoors, zoom test, image 1 - 1/220 @ F 6.4, ISO 100 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Outdoors, zoom test, image 2 - 1/320 @ F 3.3, ISO 100 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Outdoors, zoom test, image 3 - 1/320 @ F 3.3, ISO 100 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Outdoors, zoom test, image 4 - 1/125 @ F 5.6, ISO 100 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Outdoors, zoom test, image 5 - 1/220 @ F 6.4, ISO 100 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Outdoors, zoom test, image 6 - 1/160 @ F 5.6, ISO 100 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Cool beans! I can’t image needing more zoom than that in a point & shoot. (My last one had a 3x zoom so this one kicks it’s butt!) Next I decided to play around taking some macro shoots outdoors, in natural light. The first thing I discovered is that it will flash a sign on the screen if you aren’t in focus but you are still able to click & shoot. I’ve had some cameras that simply won’t shoot if you aren’t in focus so I’ll need to keep that in mind when I’m shooting. Other than that things went great. Here are a couple samples:

Outdoor, macro image #1 - 1/240 @ F5.3 ISO 400 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Outdoor, macro image #2 - 1/200 @ F5.6 ISO 200 Fuji FinePix JZ500

Next I came indoors to my computer to upload the images.  The camera comes with a CD & software but I uploaded it to my Mac using Image Capture and it recognized the camera immediately. No problems with the uploads at all. I was curious to see the file sizes so I open the images in Photoshop and checked. 60 x 45 inches at 72 dpi. Hmmmm.  Can’t say I’m thrilled about 72 dpi but I’ve noticed that many of the smaller camera run at that dpi.  The 60×45 inches was surely large enough though. I’ll be curious how they print at larger sizes but, judging by viewing them on the screen I can’t see that they’ll lose much quality until they get up into the 30×22″ range and, honestly, I don’t know many people that I buy a point & shoot to print images that large!  The only other thing to note is there is not much in the way of written instructions or manuals that you could keep with you when you are out shooting. That info is included on the CD. I will be opening that and exploring it in depth this evening and also hope to get some indoor & outdoor people shoots take as well.  AND it has a built in HD camcorder. So much to explore! Look for further reviews as I progress through those stages…

Lynne

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Cat

     /  March 25, 2010

    On that distant shot of the swing – I thought it was a bird! A peacock or something! LOL

    I’m happy you’re posting a review of this camera. I’ve been interested in it since you mentioned it earlier. Does the camera have a stabilizer? I tend to need one of those with smaller cameras.

    Reply
  2. Hey Cat! I’ll be posting some more photos and stuff soon, haven’t had time to get them uploaded yet. Yes, it does have a stabilizer in it, btw. 🙂

    Reply
  1. Fuji FinePix JZ500 Camera – Review, Part 2 « Lynne's Blog
  2. A little Monday morning creativity! « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

