Beginnings

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

When I ordered some new art supplies last week I purchased some multi-media art board to work with after reading a customer review that said you could soak the paper in hot water and then mold it into various shapes. Now THAT was just too tempting to resist! Although I bought the board in both black and white versions I wasn’t sure what the hot water might do to the black colored ones so I decided my initial experiment would be with the white. I ran it under hot water then let it just soak in the sink, the longer it was in the water the more translucent it became. Once the entire piece was soaked through I pulled it out and placed it on top of a dish towel so I could begin to shape it.  I gathered cylinder shaped bottles, cans, tubes, etc. from around the studio and wrapped the art board around, over and under then, then wedge the entire thing together and let it dry overnight and well into the next day before disturbing it.

package of art board

wet art board

wet art board, molded & ready to dry

Well, I’ll be, it worked! It had dried as rigid as it started.  I have no idea how well it will hold it’s shape when paint or adhesive is applied, I’ve not been brave (or inspired) enough to do anything else to it! I took several photos of it laying on a black background and thought it was lovely as it is. I’m sure at some point in the future you’ll see other images of it as I do more work to it.  (Or I’ll add a postscript to this entry if it dies a tragic death!) I’m also thinking of experimenting with a black piece now that this try was successful.  In the meantime, enjoy a few more photos!

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

If you have any ideas for media, subjects or techniques to try on this piece I’m always open to suggestions…

Thoughts?

Lynne

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

