Finished project for Earth Day show…

"signature required for processing" mixed media collage, 36x12" (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Last week I posted about a project I was working on for a show celebrating Earth Day. Yesterday’s blog post included an image of the metal wall sculpture that my husband, Mark, entered in the show along with the press release announcing all the details.  Today I thought I’d share a few of the step-by-step images, as well as the finished project (above), for my show entry. I began this collage by covering the entire canvas with a layer of junk mail. After that was dry I proceeded by layering on some semi-transparent glaze in different colors.

progress image #1 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

progress image #2 (c) Lynne Medsker

I pushed the colors around, blending them and removing them until I was content. (I had so much fun with the glaze & colors I also used them on another project that I’ll be showing you at a later date!) The following layer was more snippets junk mail, followed by a layer of white acrylic & glaze.

progress image #3 (c) Lynne Medsker

progress image #4 (c) Lynne Medsker

Although it’s hard to tell from a small blog image there were still many areas where the original layer was showing through the over-layers of colored glaze. Here’s a close-up shot showing some of the details:

detail, progress image #5 (c) Lynne Medsker

The final layer of junk mail clippings were added and then a few areas of black paint were applied with textured applicator. Finished!  Of course all these steps were spread out over a five day period with drying time (and some pauses to think about direction). I’ve enjoyed showing some of the step-by-step photos and instruction on how I have been creating art lately, I hope you have as well.  Now on to this week’s creative project…whatever that may end up being!

Anticipation,

Lynne

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

