Spring Beauty

"spring flowers #4” © 2010, Lynne Medsker

I just love watching the earth come alive each spring! Each day there seems to be something new sprouting, and the dull winter colors are taken over by bright greens and colorful flowers.  This year I first noticed it while sitting in the sun on my front steps. Looking down at the bricks below my feet I could see these tiny little flowers sprouting between the cracks!

"spring flower #1" (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Slowly, as the days passed, I began to notice more tiny miracles come to life. With the abundance of rain and unusually warm weather there is a bumper crop of wildflowers growing throughout the woods this year.

“spring flowers #9” © 2010, Lynne Medsker

Probably my favorite of these wildflowers is the “Spring Beauty,” a tiny flower that is predominately white with varying amounts of pink in the center.

“spring flowers #2” © 2010, Lynne Medsker

“spring flowers #8” © 2010, Lynne Medsker

I found some this year with more pink than I think I’ve ever seen before!

“spring flowers #3” © 2010, Lynne Medsker

“spring flowers #5 © 2010, Lynne Medsker

Now when I say tiny, I do mean tiny, the blossoms are about the size of my fingertips!

“spring flowers #6” © 2010, Lynne Medsker

Look for more signs of spring in my next post! Until then, keep your eyes open so you don’t miss anything during this wonderful transition of seasons.

Lynne

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Yellow « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

