Expanding my studio!

I love my studio, I really do. But (I’m sure like many artists) it is not a terribly large space and (being a pack rat!) it’s awfully full of art supplies. Sometimes I makes it a challenge to be creative, especially on larger scale pieces of art. I discovered last year that once the weather begins to warm up I can enlarge my studio just by opening up the doors and including the area outside as part of my workspace.  Yes, it’s temporary, but it works!

outdoor studio © 2010, Lynne Medsker

outdoor studio, with room for a friend! © 2010, Lynne Medsker

One added bonus is that I’m outdoors in the fresh air but what I really enjoy is the freedom. The freedom to spray and splatter and drip and generally make all the mess I want without worrying. The worst thing that can happen is that I have some paint-covered rocks in the driveway and I’m kind of fond of those! They remind me of the creative times I’ve been able to spend.

Are there ways you can adapt your surroundings, life and circumstances to better suit your needs? You never know until you try…

Lynne

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Glorious bare necessities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

