New life

I have to admit I’ve not much of a green thumb and most of my houseplants die a miserable death. But I’m on a streak and have kept (most of) a planter full of greenery alive since late last fall.  Which lead me to feel brave enough to add a new friend to my studio.  I tried to resist, honestly I did.  I still don’t know if it was the perky green leaves or the cute blue pot but I couldn’t help but bring this little fella home with me when I spied him last week.

plant, image 1 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Once I picked him up to bring him home I discovered he was just sitting in a little plastic container inside the cute blue pot so when we arrived home I filled the pot with soil and, with lots of tender love & care, nestled him into his new home surrounded by some yummy, rich dirt. He’s a full sun type of guy and so the studio is a perfect place for him to live during the warmer months of the year. When late fall rolls around he’ll have to more to an indoor location for a while! I’ve enjoyed snapping photos of him with different lighting and angles.

plant, image 2 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

I wonder if he’ll influence my art and I’ll start adding greenery to all my creations?

I’m thinking of naming him after a painter since he’s an art studio plant. I’m leaning toward Claude (Monet) but I’m still open for suggestions!

Thoughts?

Lynne

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Cat

     /  April 23, 2010

    Claude works for me. 🙂

    It looks like a younger version of a plant I have. Do you know what kind it is? If it is the same, it definitely wants sun and dries out quick, so keep an eye on him. Don’t be dismayed if you see a lot of leaf drop – they tend to do that. (At least mine does.)

    Reply
  1. Life & Growth in the Studio… « Lynne's Blog
  2. Studio Companions « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

