Artists are liars!

"dream things" mixed media on wood, 5x7 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Well, okay, maybe not ALL artists but enough that that statement isn’t far from true. We work on our art, we play with our art, we tweek it, change it, stare at it, enhance it, destroy it, rebuild it and, FINALLY declare it finished! But there are times that, even though we declared it finished, well…we just can’t leave it alone. Several months ago I declared these pieces done, smugly titling the post “The End of the Journey” – little did I know I would be doing yet another post about the same art today.

Final image from the last post (c) Lynne Medsker

When I “finished” these works before I sat them in the studio and continued to look at them, yet never finished the edges or attached hanging wires. I suppose somewhere inside I must have known I wasn’t done but the thought hadn’t gotten to my brain just yet. A few months passed and I was in the studio one day working on another project and I drug these pieces back out to my work area and began adding more paint to the surface.

work STILL in progress, image #12 (c) Lynne Medsker

Meh! It didn’t seem to improve them much so back they went to sitting. This week as I was working in the studio I decided to experiment with a mixture of gesso and sand to add texture to images. I mixed up a batch, used what I needed for the newest piece of art I was working on and still had plenty left in the container. Ah ha!! Out came these pieces again (along with another series that had been progressing slowly) and began layering on the sand mixture randomly.

work in progress, image #13 (c) Lynne Medsker

Hmmmm.  This just MIGHT be pretty cool. I sat them in the sunshine to dry and tried to leave them alone (I get so impatient sometimes!). Eventually they seemed dry enough that I could begin to add color to the sand. I layered several washes of watercolor and acrylic.

work in progress, image #14 (c) Lynne Medsker

I eventually was happy with the colors that I had so I covered the entire surface of each piece with a clear glaze. I had to wait until the next morning for that to be dry and discover how they turned out. In addition to  “Dream Things” shown at the top of the page, the other two pieces are shown here:

"live the life" mixed media on wood, 5x7 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

"you see things" mixed media on wood, 5x7" (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

At this point I am afraid to declare them truly finished BUT, I am putting their hanging wires on, and signing the back of them!  I’ve even got plans of when/where I’ll show them. Surely that means I’m done!

Or does it?

Lynne

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

