Scenic Road Trip: South Dakota, Part 1

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

So when we left off the last scenic road trip I had spent the night in Lusk, Wyoming. I was up early the next morning, ready to go explore some more of the beautiful scenery of South Dakota. I wasn’t disappointed! I had a wonderful trip through the Black Hills, Custer State Park and Mount Rushmore! The winding roads were so much fun to drive, even if I did go in circles a few times. 🙂

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

It was getting close to dark by the time I left Mt. Rushmore so I headed to Hill City and spent the night at the Spring Creek Inn. The next morning I was off & running again, this time heading further east. I took a very “adventurous” route that was mainly dirt roads. Since it was drizzly that morning needless to say my car ended up a mess…as did my boots, floor mat and most everything else! Nothing like that red dirt everywhere. 🙂 Here are some images from the gravel road route:

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

In case you are wondering why I haven’t shown any images of animals or wildlife through all these scenic trip posts I’ll let you in on a secret. I’m saving them for last! If you curious where the dirt road and part two of the South Dakota trip led to, here’s a hint:

(c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

To be continued….

Lynne

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. April

     /  November 5, 2010

    Oh yea! Love having red dirt everywhere!!

    Reply
  1. Scenic Road Trip: South Dakota, Part 2 « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

