Updated studio space!

Even though it’s only been a little over a year since I transformed my porch into my studio space it was becoming clear that it was time to do some work on the design & layout. The original version, while very pretty, was not nearly as functional as I needed it to be. With only one work area (a mid-sized drafting table) I found myself working on the floor, on folding tables and, during nice weather, outdoors. And any work-in-progress or pieces that were drying were scattered all over the floor and any other available flat surface I could find. With the approach of winter I knew something had to give. In addition to it not being as functional as I wanted it to be it had gotten downright messy & cluttered! SO everything came out of the drawers, storage boxes and miscellaneous piles and into a sorting area where it’s necessity and storage arrangements were examined. I started at one end of the room and got down to bare carpet then slowly worked my way out from there as I replaced and rearranged items.

studio image #1 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

I was so excited when I got this first area finished, at last I was seeing progress! I pitched several bags of garbage, passed along a box of “donations” and removing a couple pieces of unwanted furniture in the process. It seemed like it took forever (off & on it was a little over a week-long process) but it was finally finished!

studio image #2 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Other than a huge chunk of my time the only expense was a new eight-foot long table to work on.

studio image #3 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

I sold a smaller desk that I didn’t need anymore so that made my costs even lower! I ended up with the original drafting table (which is doubling for my “office” desk), the nice large new table and another four by four foot area of folding tables to hold pieces that were in progress and/or drying.

studio image #4 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

FLAT SURFACES! Woo, hoo! By re-arranging the gathering tables and chairs I also increased the size of my “working studio” without eliminating the seating/social area. One set of table & stools are by the door and the other are against the windows looking out into the woods. It’s a great place to sit in the morning & drink your coffee – or sit in the evening and sip a glass of wine too!

studio image #5 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Of course now that I was finally finished I could hardly wait to test it out and see how it felt to work in my new surroundings. Wouldn’t you know my first scheduled day in the studio I had a little guy home with the chicken pox! So guess who got to create the first piece of art in my newly arranged studio?

studio image #6 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Such is a grandma’s love to share her “new” space with little ones! I’ve had plenty of opportunity to work out there since and I am really happy with the layout so far. I look forward to being creative in my studio even more now! I didn’t know that was possible. 🙂

Happily,

Lynne

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Slowest clay project ever! « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

