Tiny Treasures

"tiny treasures" mixed media on 4x4" wood panels, $30 each or 3/$75 (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

These little pieces of art went through so many different phases and changes I was quite surprised when they finally came to a stopping point I was happy with! Although really large pieces can seem intimidating on occasion these tiny ones were more challenging than any of the larger pieces I’ve undertaken. You just never know! They started out innocently enough, with some acrylic gel layered on to start off the texture.

work in progress, image #1, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Seemed simple enough! I even knew (or thought I knew!) the color scheme that I wanted to use, so next came some acrylic paint.

work in progress, image #2, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

That, in turn, was covered with more gel medium for added texture and then left until it dried.

work in progress, image #3, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Okay, so far so good! Let’s all some details and a little more paint.

work in progress, image #4, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Nah, that’s not really what I’m after. What am I after?? (I think I may have forgotten to ask that important question!) Let’s throw some more paint on it and see what happens.

work in progress, image #5, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Well that’s not it either. I think there was some more paint throwing before I decided that it was time to go with a more rough texture and some different colors. So on went a mixture of sand & gesso, followed by some washes of color once it dried.

work in progress, image #6, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

work in progress, image #7, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Okay, better. Not great, but heading in the right direction! More color added and then I decided it was just time to be BOLD. So I went with bright colors and dark black for contrast.

work in progress, image #8, tiny treasures (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Hmmm, okay, perhaps a bit too bold! 🙂 Now to blend in some softer colors and highlight with some metallic paints.

work in progress image #9, tiny treasures / (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Oh yeah, this is where I was going…I just took the scenic route to get here! A few more touches of color here & there to balance the pieces out and I was finally happy enough to declare them FINISHED! There was a lot of “down time” in between these stages, which is one of the reasons they kept changing. It took 8 months from the time I put the first layer of gel on them until they were completed. So I started then while I was in “Spring” mode, with more pastels and flowery shades and finished them during the last bright days of fall.

How do the seasons change your outlook on things? As I write this I can look out my window at the first dusting of snow and feel the chill of winter. I wonder how my next pieces of art will change with the weather! I also noticed that it’s “snowing” on this blog again! Each year, in December, tiny snowflakes drift down the blog page while you read. You can even change their direction by moving your mouse/cursor around the page. What fun!

Enjoy!

Lynne

P.S. If you’d like to see these pieces of work in person, they are currently on display (along with a great selection of other work) at Artistic Designs Gallery in Brownsburg! Check the “News” section on the website for more info.


Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. April

     /  December 2, 2010

    LOL Thought I was seeing things. Thanks for mentioning the falling snow on your site. I feel better knowing my eyes aren’t THAT bad. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

