Reinventing Routines…

"sleepless" digital artwork (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

I’ve decided that there is no such thing as a “normal” day, week, month, year or life! It seems we just transition from the current normal to the “new” normal as circumstances and choices dictate. The past year we had more of the circumstances dictating our lives than choices!

The first of the year brings a clean calendar to fill with all the details of life and a fresh start to define routines and what I think my current “normal” will look like. I like fresh starts and seem to have a few times each year where it just feels natural to evaluate where I am at, where I want to go and what the possible routes are to get moving in that direction. After the chaos of the holidays I am anxious to get myself “on track” (or as close to it as I ever am!). I have scheduled a larger chunk of time each week to concentrate on my art, not only creating it but keeping up with the promotion/business aspects of it as well.

One other routine I am going to attempt is a more disciplined (and hopefully more successful) sleep schedule. I go through bouts of insomnia and then other times when all I seem to do is sleep so I am taking the experts advice and I am putting myself on a schedule for going to bed and a schedule for waking up each day to try and get my body into a comfortable rhythm. Of course the only good thing that comes from not sleeping is that I finally have to propel myself from the bed and find something to do for a few hours until my mind & body are ready to be still. The digital artwork shown above was created at 2:00 a.m. on a sleepless night. Although I really like this piece I hope I won’t be featuring any more of them!

What sort of things are you changing up for the new year?

Moving forward,

Lynne

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Tuesday Tales from the Studio – January 4, 2011 « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

