Studio Update, Thursday Edition – January 20th, 2011

work in progress, "columns" 6x12 mixed media © 2011, Lynne Medsker

Oooh, I don’t think I’ve had a “Thursday Edition” before.  Isn’t this special? 🙂 It was a perfect day to stay in and make art (is there such a thing as a bad day to make art?) and I enjoyed having an extra day in the studio. I have lots of progress images to share with you, as well as some chit-chat to go with it. If you can’t tell by the image above I’ve added several more steps/layers to the “columns” artwork whose beginnings I shared in yesterday’s blog post. I added some more charcoal to the right side of the columns and rubbed that in to darken one side. The next step was to choose a color for the next layer and I picked a deep maroon to add on top of the brown/neutral base from the previous day.

work in progress, "columns" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

As soon as I had added that I began to think about flowers, flower gardens, columns with flowers and away I went. Before I could get to the actual flower portion I wanted more underlayers of color to put them on so I dropped some sepia colored ink across the top of the piece and then tilted it to let it drip down to the bottom.

work in progress, "columns" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

While that was still wet I added in some shimmering white ink into the lighter areas and let the piece set for a few minutes.

work in progress, "columns" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

After it had time to dry a bit I took a thick paper towel and placed it on top of the entire piece and lifted and smudged the ink around.

work in progress, "columns" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

Now it was time to start thinking flowers. Of course flowers need vines, stems and some greenery too so I added bits of it on & around the columns and edges first.

work in progress, "columns" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

Okay, NOW, it was time for flowers. I used different size dots with each color of paint I added, saving the very tiniest for the white dots that I put on last. Although I don’t think I’m finished with the piece it’s been fun seeing where it happened to go so far. I’m thinking perhaps it will end up more of a “secret” garden, hidden behind a few more layers a color, peeking out here & there. But that’s just “thinking” I’m letting it lead me where it wants right now.

I also added a layer of paint on the other piece that I started yesterday. I mixed an off-white with a light blue and got a very light grey-blue color that I spread over the top surface of most of the piece.

work in progress, "waves" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

Eventually the texture was too much temptation and I just started using my fingers to paint with. 🙂 I wiped away most of the paint from the black lines so they would continue to stand out for now. I’m still not sure of the direction on this piece but I like this step. We’ll see where the next one leads! Here’s a close up photo of the texture of the surface:

work in progress, "waves" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

As promised yesterday I also put color on the large 3-panel mixed media artwork I’ve been working on the last week or two!

work in progress, 3-piece mixed media 2 x 6' © 2011, Lynne Medsker

Oh, did I say color? Perhaps I should have said LOTS of color! What fun! I know I’ll be adding more layers and some (or lots) of this may be covered up eventually but I really like the bold, fun, start. And, most of all, I’m just happy to have pushed myself into doing something with all that white canvas! I’m saving all the step-by-step images for a later post, perhaps when the piece is totally finished.

Tomorrow I will spend some time cleaning up the studio and getting artwork ready to show some visitors who are stopping by. I may have time to put a little paint to canvas, I’ll just wait & see where the day takes me. I hope your Friday and the upcoming weekend are both enjoyable!

More news soon!

Lynne

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Tuesday Tales from the Studio – January 25th, 2011 « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

