Winter

"winter" mixed media on three wood panels, 10x30" overall, $350 © 2011, Lynne Medsker

How apt a title for a blog post today! I kept forgetting to write a post about this piece, perhaps it was because the perfect time hadn’t arrived. If you live anywhere close to where I am in Indiana then winter has been the main topic of conversation for several days now. I think we’ve had every form of winter weather over the last two days – snow, sleet, freezing rain, frigid temperatures, high winds. Amazingly, as I write this, we still have electricity! (Keeping fingers crossed that will continue!) I’ll take no chances on that though and will schedule this to post in the morning, in case I am not able to do it myself. I started this piece shortly after the holidays and finished it a couple of weeks ago. Seemed like it took a long time because of the materials and drying time, but it was a fun project and something a little different from my mainly abstract artwork. The first layers on this were made of acrylic “crackle paste” that, as the name implies, crack as it dries. After that it was lots of different acrylics & acrylic inks, a little charcoal and some different finish layers. I’m going to post the progress photos and add a few comments in between, when needed. Here we go –

work in progress, image #1, "winter" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

work in progress, image #2, "winter" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

Close-up of the crackle paste after it dried.

work in progress, image #3, "winter" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

work in progress, image #4, "winter" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

work in progress, image #5, "winter" © 2011, Lynne Medsker

"work in progress, image #6, "winter" © 2011, Lynne Medsker"

Close-up of sky/snow background

"work in progress, image #7, "winter" © 2011, Lynne Medsker"

Close-up of finished “pond” area of piece. Although it’s hard to tell, I finished different areas with different materials to add to the dimension. This image of the pond has several layers of clear acrylic glaze on it to make it shiny and icy looking. There is also splattering of iridescent paint over the snowbanks to make them glisten. I left the tree itself unglazed so it would look more rough and bark-like. It’s sitting in my studio right now, await the finishing touch of the hanging wires to be added to the back (as are several other pieces!).

I plan on showing this piece at my upcoming solo show at the Plainfield Public Library that opens February 12th. I’m excited to have a big show and the gallery space at the library is FABULOUS! I hope you’ll come out to view the art in person while it’s showing, as much as I enjoy sharing it on the blog the photos don’t always capture the subtle details and textures of the art.

Until next time!

Lynne

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. TJ

     /  February 2, 2011

    wow, i have an affinity for trees and this art here just knocks me off my feet! it is beautiful and I cannot wait to see in live at the library. Per usual, your work is just compelling. Thanks for sharing the hows of the creation as it is nice to hear how some of the effects are created.

    TJ

    Reply
  2. Cat

     /  February 2, 2011

    Cool. Don’t think I’ve ever seen a tryptic going vertical instead of horizontal. And, with the tree running through all 3, it works out great.

    Reply
    • Yes, I debated on the horizontal with lots of trees but really wanted to have one tree that really stood out so I flipped it vertical & went for it. Glad you like it!

      Reply
  3. Janis Brunner

     /  February 2, 2011

    You know I love trees too. My granddaughter calls them my naked trees. Really like this piece.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

