Composition Play: Strata on Vertical

Yesterday I shared a post about a series of images I have been working on with focus being on composition. Today I’m going to feature the piece that I created with the idea of “strata” in mind. Strata is basically layers or lines, much like the layers of earth and rocks our planet is made of. Like this image:

image of "strata" in rocks © 2010, Lynne Medsker

Basically a strata composition is made of several horizontal lines, this time I made the horizontal lines on a vertical piece of illustration board. It could just as easily be made on a horizontal piece, I just like the way this felt.  As with the previous piece I started with a loose sketch of lines.

work in progress, sketch © 2011, Lynne Medsker

Following that the border was added with charcoal and the piece sealed before the paint was applied. Loose washes of color were painted on to each section, some being allowed to drip/run down the piece. Outside of the border wax had been applied to repel much of the paint, leaving that part a softer, lighter color that the image in the center. When the paint was dry I used a wide permanent marker to accent the border lines and then painted the four corners black.  The original sketch marks were accented with lines of black paint. Eventually I had to add some dots for accent, I’d gotten into the dots on the previous piece and just couldn’t stop!

"descent" mixed media on illustration board, 8x20" $145 (unframed) © 2011, Lynne Medsker

This is another piece that I was pleased with when it was finished. I have more to share with you, check back soon!

Lynne

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

