Studio Companions

You often see artists portrayed in their studios, slaving over their masterpieces in solitude, which can be the case I suppose. But having a home studio kind of changes that concept! When I am available by simply opening a door the solitude isn’t usually permanent. 🙂 I thought I’d share a few images of my companions in the blog today!

"amy" © lynne medsker

This is our recently adopted cat, Amy. She came to live with us last fall and settled in, quite happily, as soon as she arrived. Although we adopted her as a “working cat” to catch the mice and critters that like to invade our garage and surrounding areas she’s become quite a well-loved member of the family. You only need to be in her vicinity for the purring to start and it goes into over-drive with just a few strokes of her fur. When she knows I am working in the studio she hangs around outside the french doors so she can peek in and check on me (or meow loudly for attention if she hasn’t had enough). If she’s not on the porch looking in she hops in the back of the truck that’s parked in front of the studio and watches me from there, as in the photo above. When I work outside on sunny days she’s right there with me, sometimes a bit too much “right there” as she’s been seen walking around on pieces of art drying in the sunshine!

my art buddy! © lynne medsker

Another companion, especially when I am working outdoors, is my grandson. He likes to have his own projects to work on right along side of me when we are outside.  If I am working on a piece using the spray bottle to make drips & runs he’s my official squirter for the project! Indoors he likes to explore all the drawers of art supplies, piling up paintbrushes into interesting constructions or sorting and playing with my cans full of rocks and other “treasures” keeps him occupied.

my art buddy in the studio © lynne medsker

Of course there are days that we just “play art” together and let him have fun. He’s building up quite a wall of art in his bedroom! He also has his own small “art station” with a huge drawing pad and washable markers, along with a small pair of safety scissors he likes to cut the paper into small pieces with. It’s usually pretty evident when he’s been in the studio keeping me company!

"spike" © lynne medsker

Although not as interactive as my first two companions I also recently added a new friend to the studio, aptly named “Spike”! He was on a clearance shelf and just seemed to want to come home and join the plant I brought home last year, Claude. I need to get him settled into a more permanent pot but so far he seems to be happy with his new surroundings. Both the plants sit next to the iPod dock so if I’m not talking to them enough they are at least taking in lots of good music!

So that’s a little peek into life in my studio. Now it’s time for me to get out there and get busy on some pending projects! Until next time just think of me happily working, in semi-solitude!

Lynne

me in the studio © lynne medsker

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great cat – I’m always a sucker for cats and your little story pulled me right in! Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  2. Wow, I paint outside in the gravel driveway also! I also occasionally have my 2 grand kids with me helping, so I relate to your post here. Just adorable! Aren’t we lucky women?
    Take care… Deb

    Reply
    • We certainly are lucky! I love being able to paint outdoors & get messy. Plus I’m getting a beautifully colored driveway for free! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

