Talking in Circles

"talking in circles" mixed media collage, 16x20", $240 © Lynne Medsker

This piece is the second of three new mixed media collages that I created while on my retreat last month. It is also the one that I struggled with the most, at least until a creative lightning bolt hit me during an afternoon nap. I literally leapt off the couch and dashed to the studio before the idea disappeared!

It’s beginning were inspired by my goal of having more words & text in my work so I literally covered the canvas with just that!

"talking in circles" work in progress, image 1 © lynne medsker

"talking in circles" work in progress, image 2 © lynne medsker

A bit of texture and design were make with the acrylic gel to give it some added detail. At that point I wasn’t sure what else it needed so I started with some color, a nice warm brown.

"talking in circles" work in progress, image 3 © lynne medsker

That’s where I got stuck! I just could not picture where it was going so knowing the next step was impossible. So it sat for several days and, evidently, simmered in my creative percolator. My sleep schedule (when left to my own devices) includes a nice afternoon nap for an hour or so and as I was drifting off one afternoon a thought popped in my mind. Talking in circles! I already had the words, all I needed was the circles. 🙂 From that point on it was a piece of cake!

"talking in circles" work in progress, image 4 © lynne medsker

"talking in circles" work in progress, image 5 © lynne medsker

"talking in circles" work in progress, image 7 © lynne medsker

Adding ribbons of paper in different colors, drawing the circular design with charcoal, painting the highlights, I had it finished by the time I went to bed that evening. Although you can’t tell it from these small images there are still places in the image where the text shows through.

I think it really helped to have it out and in my view while I was pondering what to do with it. I’ve got several pieces in the studio I need to pull out and ponder on a bit – perhaps I’ll get hit with another creative lightning bolt when I least expect it!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Impressive, tkz for sharing

    Reply
  2. Mystery Momma

     /  August 16, 2011

    I really like this piece!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

