Imagination

"imagination" mixed media wall sculpture, 6x12" $125 © lynne medsker

Here’s a whimsical little piece to brighten your day! I had a lot of fun creating this…both the aluminum element and the painted background. It’s hard to see the actual word “imagination” in the finished image but it shows up much better in these progress shots:

"imagination" work in progress, image 1 © lynne medsker

"imagination" work in progress, image 2 © lynne medsker

I used a metal embossing stamp kit to hammer the letters into the aluminum surface and then filled in the letters with black ink before coloring the piece. I re-ink the letters afterwards to help emphasis them too! After that piece was finished I began playing with the background. Using acrylic inks and a spray bottle I dropped colors onto the surface, let them blend (helping them along from time to time), gave it some dry time and repeated the process, adding & subtracting as I went.

"imagination" work in progress, image 3 © lynne medsker

"imagination" work in progress, image 4 © lynne medsker

I love to watch colors run across a surface, surprising you with the way the blend and travel through a piece! Once I was satisfied with the coloring I sealed the background and began adding the details to the surface, it wasn’t long before it was complete. It’s hanging in my studio right now, keeping me inspired. You are always welcome to set up a time to come see it yourself!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Imagination « Lynne's Blog | Random Creativity | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

