Tell Me About It

"tell me about it" mixed media collage on wood panel, 12x12", $175 © lynne medsker

Another text/word/quote based piece – this one even includes actual metal typesetting pieces in the composition! Beginning with a large piece of paper that I had painted, stamped letters and patterns onto I proceeded to add more paper and designs on top of it to create the background.

stamps used for design © Lynne Medsker

stamping paper for collage work © Lynne Medsker

"tell me about it" work in progress, image 1 © lynne medsker

While that was drying I began working with the typesetting pieces, selecting small letters & symbols that would fit within the square pieces they would be held together in, eventually making three groups that would be added to the piece next. I also stamped some copper designs across the surface.

"tell me about it" work in progress, image 2 © lynne medsker

To finish off the piece I did some shading with pencil, added written text over the surface with a fine line marker and also outlined some of the text on the surface to emphasize certain words & phrases.

Does it “speak” to you?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Janis Brunner

     /  September 27, 2011

    I really like this one, of course.

    Reply
  2. Thanks Janis!! Hope you are doing well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

