Exploring watercolor…

Last month my friend and I attended an experimental watercolor workshop presented by Mary Ann Beckwith. Mary Ann is an awesome artist and wonderful teacher, and a weekend away from home playing with art is always a great thing! Here are some images of the work I created during the workshop:

small watercolor on yupo paper © lynne medsker, 2011

layered watercolor on watercolor paper © lynne medsker, 2011

layered watercolor on translucent yupo paper, with marker © lynne medsker, 2011

layered watercolor on translucent yupo paper, with marker © lynne medsker, 2011

watercolor on translucent yupo paper © lynne medsker, 2011

layered watercolor collage on watercolor paper and yupo paper © lynne medsker, 2011

watercolor on yupo paper © lynne medsker, 2011

I’ve incorporated some of these techniques into my art over the last month, it’s so interesting to learn new things and then adapt them to your own style!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Linda Halcomb

     /  September 26, 2011

    Very exciting. I love yupo but I’ve never used translucent yupo. I’m enthralled.

    Reply
    • It’s a bit “fussier” to use, I had to spray it with a fixative to keep the paint on it. Cool look, just a bit more trouble!

      Reply
  2. Susan Art

     /  February 21, 2014

    A little late to the “party” here but I have been doing webs on yupo with watercolor. When I hit it with spray fixative (after it had dried for weeks) the water color dissolved! What fixative are you using? I was using Dick Blick liquid watercolor on yupo. Help…please!

    Reply
    • I won’t absolutely swear to it but generally I use a polycrylic spray to seal things because it doesn’t seem to make things run. Several light coats vs. one heavy one. Hope that helps!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

