New Mandala Art: Dancing Waves

"dancing waves" mixed media mandala art, 8x10", $175 (framed) © lynne medsker

I’m way behind on posting images of new mandala art projects! This is probably my favorite mandala inspired work that I’ve made lately, although it’s less mandala than most. Created before our vacation to Oregon & California, I was inspired to draw this while dreaming of visiting the rocky coastline. Here is an image of the piece in it’s early stage:

work in progress, dancing waves © lynne medsker

I continued to work with pencil, marker & ink to develop the details and background. Here’s a photo of it before I began to add watercolors:

work in progress, dancing waves © lynne medsker

This is a close-up image during the same stage:

work in progress, dancing waves © lynne medsker

Finally I began to paint layers of watercolor, followed by more ink, pencil and charcoal until it was finished. Although the actual waves crashing on the rocks were breathtakingly beautiful, it was fun making a creative  rendition of what I dreamed I would see.

What do you dream of?

Lynne

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

