Commissioned Work: Turquoise Topography

So I thought I’d finish off this week with some commissioned work that I completed in February.

finished work, turquoise topography © lynne medsker

"turquoise topography" 1 & 2, commissioned artwork, mixed media on wood panels, 20x20" each

The color scheme and media were based off of a piece I’d made a few years ago, “Lacrimo”.

"lacrimo" mixed media on wood panel, 20x20" $375 © lynne medsker

Since the client wanted two pieces I knew I’d get a better continuity between them by creating two at once instead of trying to match the single piece I’d created two years ago. Beginning with layers of concrete applied by hand to the wood panels, I made texture & designs on each panel, as well as drops and bumps of concrete across the surface as well.

work in progress image, lynne medsker

work in progress image, concrete of wood panel © lynne medsker

work in progress image 2

work in progress, first layers of acrylic © lynne medsker

Once dried that layer was sealed and then I began the layering process with thin layers of acrylic. Adding more neutral colored layers followed by bright colors I built up the design on the concrete bit by bit.

work in progress image 3

work in progress, additional layers of color on wood panels © lynne medsker

work in progress, image 4

work in progress, brighter colors on top of the neutral background © lynne medsker

Eventually it was time for the finishing layers, more sealer and to choose a direction for them to hang.

work in progress, image 5

finishing touches of color © lynne medsker

It was actually the clients idea to hang them at an angle, they look great that way! I really enjoyed being able to create these pieces, what would you like me to create for you?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. meredith

     /  April 13, 2012

    The texture gives the color so much pop! I love these, Lynn. They’re beautiful. You have a great instinct with rhythm.

    Reply
    • Thanks Meredith! I really like making things like this that go more by how I feel than any set rules or patterns. I’m glad you liked them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

