Words and Intent

I know many people make their resolutions this time of year but I’ve never been a fan of them. Why set myself up in a situation than often ends in failure?! I had read a year or two ago that some people choose a word to focus on for the upcoming year and I really like that idea instead. This year I ended up with two words and, since I don’t think there are any hard & fast rules to these sort of thing, I’m using them both. My mind has been whirling at an even faster pace the last few days (something I don’t really appreciate as I lay awake at night listening to it) and for some reason I am really excited about the possibilities for the upcoming year. I’m also in one of those moods where I want to move all the furniture around the house, re-do my studio (I’ve actually started that process already) and the BIG thing I really want to create this year is a HAVEN. Not to say that I don’t have a comfortable home I just have times that I want to escape. As I’m not independently wealthy at this time I can’t just up and travel at the drop of a hat. But I still have that yearning to go somewhere and be alone. So, HAVEN was one of the words I chose. I had fun thinking of words that describe what I am seeking, then I used the “Wordle” program and created this image:wordle, haven

At the bare minimum the spot I’m thinking of creating my haven in could stand a fresh coat of paint. There are lots of other ideas dancing in my head but that will be the first step. I’ll keep you posted through out the year as I begin the process of bringing this desire into reality! Curious about the other word I’ve selected for 2013? I’m saving that for the next post. 🙂

What word (or words) would you choose to focus on during the new year?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. TJGraham

     /  December 27, 2012

    Love this word and your thoughts on focusing for the new year ahead! I am going to give this some thought!!!

    Reply
    • I really enjoy have a focus but not a hard set goal. 🙂 I’d love to hear what word you come up with if you choose one for 2013. My other word is much “loftier” than this but this one makes me happiest. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Exploring possibilities « Lynne's Blog

Leave a Reply

