Play date!

This post is going back to August, shortly before I left for my residency in Colorado. I have an artist/friend (well, okay, more than one!) who’s art and creativity I admire and who’s company I always enjoy, named Doug Arnholter. One of the mediums he works with is mortar/cement and it always looked like so much fun that one day I schedule the time to go have a play date with him! (Click on his name to view some of his awesome work.) If you’ve read my blog, looked at my website or talked with me at all you know that I love to explore different mediums so I was excited to give it a try. I brought over several blank wood panels, a few pieces that I wanted to re-work and some large pieces of cardboard so I’d have lots of options on what to do. He showed me around his work area, set me up a space to work in, gave me some basic instructions and let me loose to play. It was perfect, that’s just how I like to learn new things! He began work on one of his new creations I started to putter around with mine.

doug at work, adding color to a piece of art (c) Lynne Medsker
doug at work, adding another layer of mortar (c) Lynne Medsker

Although I’m not going to show you all the things I worked on today (I’ll save that for when I get some other pieces finished!) I thought I would show you the progression of one set that I finished and have hanging at Sugar Creek Art Center. I started these wood panels with a layer of thin mortar for some texture and then left them to dry while I moved onto other projects.

work in progress, image 1, consociatus (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

After that was dry I began adding different layers of color to the panels, letting them dry in between layers.

work in progress, image 2, consociatus (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker
work in progress, image 3, consociatus (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

Sealer was also brushed on between some layers to add depth, as well as seal the piece.

work in progress, image 4, consociatus (c) 2010, Lynne Medsker

This was about as far as I got during our play date but I brought the pieces home with me and continued to add layers of acrylic until I declared it done.

"consociatus" mixed media on wood, 10x30 total, $225 for set.JPG

I continue to add paint and details to the other pieces that were started that day and hope to have more to show you soon!

Keep playing!

Lynne